12 Days of Something II: I’m Rubbish at Anything Anime Music

When there was an opening/ending music quizzes going around Twitter the other day, I had one of those terrible revelations that made me think that I wasn’t a true fan of the stuff I blog about regularly. So after weighing in with something like 8% out of a little over 100 entries, I thought it would make good post material to talk about this subject.

I started by trying to see if I could make a top 10 list of Openings for 2012, and I think I managed about 7, and that included the garbage that is Queen’s Blade Rebellion‘s opening theme. Even worse is endings, of which I can only recall one off the top of my head.

I think that I may be blowing this out of the water as too much of a problem. It’s not that I dislike the music in anime this year. The soundtracks to Tempest, Jormungand, Sukitte, Apollon and Space Brothers are quite good and I recognize that a lot of work went into them. However, openings and endings may simply not be my thing.

I could take a completely cynical view that many months in advance, these songs were written by contractors designed to make the biggest hit possible. When an opportunity to promote the artist in question presented itself they bid to each production committee to try to get this seen by fans of a particular show who will then go out and buy the ridiculously overpriced single since they already buy the ridiculously priced disks the anime is on anyway.

Furthermore, I can’t if there was even a time when it was relevant to the story. So I guess I learned that it was just filler in much the same way as advertisements are on normal television. Simply something I could skip 90 seconds ahead of once I reached the beginning.

On the other hand, I can actually see them being useful. Someone likes anime, and they also like music. So what better way of getting involved in the cultural experience by also liking the music that comes with the anime. You may not understand the lyrics, but that hasn’t stopped me from enjoying music ranging from French rap to the vaguely Arabic-chanting that comes with a lot of movie soundtracks and others that are in that list of soundtracks from this year I mentioned earlier.

For the record, if you did want to know my top 3 openings for the year the top one is up above. 2nd and 3rd. If you have any thoughts or criticisms of my taste in music, please feel free to let me know in the comments. Bonus points for reading like a Pitchfork review.

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Something II: I’m Rubbish at Anything Anime Music

Leave a Reply

