12 Days of Something II: Complaining About the Realism in Fiction

A selection from one of the classier manga I read regularly

A selection from one of the classier manga I read regularly

One of the things I’ve never really covered in this the space of this blog is that I do read manga. Actually a ton of it to a level that is not healthy. What do I do with this time I’m reading it? I pretty much spend it complaining about the realism in fiction.For those who want to know, it generally works like this. I go through and pretty much look for usually anything in the genres of Romance, Ecchi, Harem and School Life, the more of these the better. I then approximately catch up and as the romantic story line comes in I pretty much.

So take something recent like Nisekoi and there are just so many ways to take it apart in a logical sense. Are there even gangs of yakuza around like that anymore. Why is the best girl (Ruri) in the series not given enough time? What ever happened to the locket? And really no one is as noncommittal as Raku in real life.

This is fun putting out of context panels into a post

This is fun putting out of context panels into a post

Or there’s another one of my favorites Tonari no Kashiwagi-san which involves a pair of relationships. The secondary one seems just so deadly serious about everything that entering into a relationship becomes a life-long bond. It’s just the 2nd year of high school, there’s plenty to happen afterwards. And our title character doesn’t seem to quite grasp human relationships, but she’s there looking attractive half the time.

Meanwhile, Denpa Kyoushi seems to be all about making the main character into the denpa modern version of Great Teacher Onizuka. Since it hit popularity, now my biggest issues happen to be with the glacial pace the timeline in the story seems to be moving in. What happened to his popular blog? Does he simply not care enough about it anymore to be distracted by this teaching gig. I could care less about the whole being way too talented to simply be a teacher. It doesn’t pay enough either way. He’s desperately screwed in either profession, so he may as well just fail at his job and teach entirely life lessons.

Now Watamote, I can’t actually find any faults with it at all from a realism standpoint. That’s exactly what everyone’s experience in high school was like. Even the popular kids were unpopular.

Everyone was like this in high school

Everyone was like this in high school

Why do I bring this all up? I have this feeling that comes with reading manga that it is the fact that it feels more disposable. Chapters can be knocked off in a few minutes, so they just feel like they have less value than 20 minutes spent watching something in motion. Then again, the genres I tend to read probably don’t convey any sense of greatness. I doubt there is any great work in those genres. And before anyone tells me I’m wrong, I probably haven’t read enough for it to matter yet.

3 thoughts on “12 Days of Something II: Complaining About the Realism in Fiction

  1. Manga certainly comes across as disposable, something that is reinforced when you look at the weekly/monthly anthologies. They are all very thick and printed on thin paper and in general have the feeling of disposable entertainment that can be read and discarded, but perhaps picked up again later if you want something to fill a gap or entrain you for a short period of time. Then again, apart from a few works that is often what comics are for, regardless of what country they are created in.

    • That’s very much true. The low quality paper on which they are printed does make it feel cheap as well. I should probably get around to reading manga that is more widely considered good. Even if I do find some of what I read entertaining.

      • You read what you enjoy. I enjoy all the series you mentioned, but I also own comics like Maus, jerusalem and a few other graphic novels detailing numerous wars, including one by Japanese artist who fought in the Pacific War. Those are critically acclaimed and brilliant to read, but their subject matter means that they can be very difficult to finish at times.

        I see no problem in reading silly, but entertaining manga or comics in general as long as you enjoy them, doesn’t really matter if they are considered ‘good’ or not since they are after all, a form of entertainment.

Leave a Reply

