A Theme For the New Year, Confronting My Own Fears

I've decided to use this pic rather than one of a rather smashed Cristiano Ronaldo, as that would really confuse people.
I've decided to use this pic rather than one of a rather smashed Cristiano Ronaldo, as that would really confuse people.

Taken from a conversation on IRC last night (#critics-conn@irc.rizon.net if you really want to know):

<@RandomHajile> Like all Junji Ito works, it's best described as "What the fuck is wrong with you, Junji Ito?"  But it is his best.
<@EmperorJ> seems too highly rated for me to read
<@katsup> lol
<@katsup> man empj, you're such a rebel
<@EmperorJ> nah, I'm just an idiot
<@katsup> lol
<@EmperorJ> really, by just reading and watching terrible stuff I'm only acknowledging the fear I have that I don't know what actually is any good

I’ve come to the realization that my viewing habits are inspired by fear. One that acknowledges that it is much safer to watch rather forgettable crap that can be quickly dismissed, rather than shows that others say are good, but I drop because I’d actually have to think about why it’s good.

With that in mind, I’ve decided to start a new weekly series where I watch one episode of Legend of the Galactic Heroes and give my thoughts on it. Perhaps it will finally allow me to grow as a person, and realize there’s more to fiction than fan-service filled romps on the beach.

Also I may actually look at putting in episodic entries, if I decide a show is actually good enough. Considering how often I’ve talked about shows made in this past decade, it doesn’t seem likely.

So with that my audience of zero-to-four (seemingly depending on what I write actually), here’s to a 2009 that doesn’t completely suck like my investments.

2 thoughts on “A Theme For the New Year, Confronting My Own Fears”

  1. The problem I feel was that I wasn’t really enjoying what I was watching. I was probably spending more time thinking about why I was watching something than actually watching a show.

Comments are closed.