The Week That Was January 8-14

This week's recap is brought to you by Form 1040, a document so powerful it destroys millions of lives annually
This week's recap is brought to you by Form 1040, a document so powerful it destroys millions of lives annually

The second week of the year 2009 in my anime viewing will probably not be remembered over the long haul. There was a sign of recovery in one show I slagged off last week, while another’s animation budget plummeted like the value of an Icelandic bank. Overall, it could probably be considered a mediocre week.

Asu no Yoichi

Getting the cliché scenes out of the way immediately.
Getting the cliche scenes out of the way immediately.

A show basically featuring a samurai version of Sagara Sousuke in a harem with four standard archetypes and with a first episode containing really nothing more than what you would expect out of the first part of this sentence. And you know what? It actually was kind of entertaining.

The first episode at least showed an awareness of what it actually is and doesn’t try to do anything more than that. It may not ever score really high marks from me personally, but this appears to at least be a solid effort.

Kurokami the Animation

NOOOO! My insurance rates were already sky high!
NOOOO! My insurance rates were already sky high!

With a different screen cap I probably would have put “Replace anonymous henchman with baseball bat with Shahid Afridi and a cricket bat and the series would have ended already,” but I digress. The show airing simultaneously in Japan, South Korea and the United States opened with a visceral first episode with plenty of blood, violence and gore. Kuro’s fight scene had an epic quality to it, but it might set the bar too high for anything in the coming weeks. Best first episode of the season to date for me.

Akikan!

Young Kakeru fights off the weakest gunman in history in a quest for his next fix. Just look at those eyes, man!
Young Kakeru fights off the weakest gunman in history in a quest for his next fix. Just look at those eyes, man!

The title of this episode may as well have been “The One Where the Budget Runs Out and the Writers Run Out of Clues.” Perhaps I just need to watch this ironically.

Kokaku no Regios

Another case of trying to be something you're not. Nice typewriter though.
Another case of trying to be something you're not. Nice typewriter though.

A confusing mess of a first episode with an opening battle which will be remembered more by me for it’s terrible music direction than action. Maybe it was trying to be this week’s Viper’s Creed. I don’t know. Unfortunately, I’m probably going to keep watching because I happen to be a sucker when I see stuff like this:

Ironically, I had the exact opposite reaction to that picture.
Ironically, I had the exact opposite reaction to that picture.

White Album

If I had a fiver for everytime this happened to me I'd...probably still have the same amount of money I have now.
If I had a fiver for everytime this happened to me I'd...probably still have the same amount of money I have now.

Much, much better for a second episode and probably vindicates my decision to continue on from last week. It’s actually refreshing to think about the relationships between the characters hanging from a thread. There’s an ominous feeling eminating from this show now, and I sincerely hope it doesn’t mess this up.

Maria†Holic

Another par-for-the-course SHAFT directed OP
Another par-for-the-course SHAFT directed OP

Going for some sort of nosebleeds per episode record is quite admirable. Maybe it will end up reducing the occurrence in other shows. I can only hope. Anyway, the Mariya/Kanako relationship takes a few turns as some more of the minor characters are introduced. If the series keeps moving from strength-to-strength at this pace, I don’t see how they can keep it up for more than 8 or 9 episodes.

Minami-ke Okaeri

Considered by a select group to be amongst the great characters of all-time, Hosaka continues to show what he does best.
Considered by a select group to be amongst the great characters of all-time, Hosaka continues to show what he does best.

The odd pacing of the first two episodes seems to have caught me off guard. Sure, it’s nice to start out with a six minute scene before the OP, but the ED being 8 minutes from the end is surely too much.

This was an episode about trying to forge better relations with targets, and not with much success. Other highlights were questionably dressed devil Fujioka and Chiaki. Really should listen to the devil side much more often to be honest.

Other Shows Watched:

Legend of the Galactic Heroes 2

Ride Back – Another slow start, excellent first ep set piece. Need some time to look at the politics of the series though to post on it.

Kimi ga Nozomu Eien ~Next Season~ 4 – This OVA probably could have finished in 2 eps rather than 4. Nice ending, though I preferred the original series one (That probably makes me a bad person now).

4 thoughts on “The Week That Was January 8-14”

  1. You might be interested to know that in South Korea, Kurokami is being aired at 10pm. It’s funny how you see bunch of teenagers complaining on message boards how they can’t watch it because their parents are still awake.

  2. I’ve either dropped or no longer plan to watch the shows here, except White Album which I’m giving another episode before I make my decision.

    I still do plan to check out Genji, and RideBack is quite good for now.

  3. @chryseis

    That’s just part of his charm as a character. The fact that he seems to be revealing more with every cut in a scene is a pretty good comedic device.

    @gaguri

    I was actually wondering how popular the show was in South Korea. At least enough people are watching to make complaints on message boards.

    @ghostlightning

    White Album’s going to be one of those shows for me that will ultimately be decided by how it ends rather than what has come before it. That alone means I will probably watch it to its conclusion. I would agree that RideBack is good.

Comments are closed.