The Week That Was January 29-February 4

I never realized how surreal ITV adverts could look based only on a still. At least nothing important was happening during that ad break...Oh.
I never realized how surreal ITV adverts could look based only on a still. At least nothing important was happening during that ad break...Oh.

This week’s recap is pretty much going to be done off the top of my head. No botched stream-of-consciousness stuff this week. It’s still going to be a mess isn’t it?

This week in my anime watching began in earnest with the third episode of RideBack (I don’t know if there should be a space in there though it feels like there should be). While Tamayo was repeating as all-Japan champion in the rideback race, there was something that bothered me immensely. Rin being able to control a system similar to a traction control system faster than a computer does seem a tad bit unrealistic. Still retiring from the race at least means there’s some level of writing skill involved to this point.

Episode four of Kurokami continued the series’ predictable slide in quality. Keita deciding to start a fight and then having Kuro actually fight in the next episode really doesn’t seem right at all.

Regios is at least brave enough to continue the English sequence from last week into the escape. Closer to home, the series continues to do the typical one episode a week character development thing that seems so popular these days. I consider it more lazy than anything, but what do I know anyway.

I also went back and revisited the last two arcs of To Aru Majutsu no Index. It seems I have taken to MISAKA like Italian anarchists to Luther Blissett. Also, pulling for Touma in the fight sequences reminds me of watching Rocky.

Flag triggered, well it would have been had they not already used that joke in the episode already.
Flag triggered, well it would have been had they not already used that joke in the episode already.

And the only thing else I can remember watching was the first two episodes of Axis Powers Hetalia. Using lazy national stereotypes is nothing groundbreaking, but the fact I have to watch using really terrible web feeds rather than DVD or actual TV source means this series will go down as infamous. So far, the series has only gone down the root of mocking Italy as a weak nation, which is inexplicably popular with women.

One thought on “The Week That Was January 29-February 4”

Comments are closed.