The Week That Was February 12-18

Rebranding at it's finest, you'd hardly think that this company sells tobacco would you?
Rebranding at it's finest, you'd hardly think that this company sells tobacco would you?

Let’s just call this a week where I struggled for motivation to watch anything. With a grand total of 2…TWO new episodes watched this week, this post will surely not be very long [or interesting – Ed.]. So read on as I cry hot tears of shame as I pad the length of my interpretations of two episodes.

Episode 1, otherwise known as the sixth and what should really be final episode of Akikan!, was an experience I could rather forget. Yell and Melon fighting a horribly animated battle in a baseball stadium with incredibly lax security, Kakeru miserably failing at at different take on pathetic harem lead, the fact that this felt like a final episode; really could have done without all of them. Probably heading to the drop bin.

Pointless tangent

Thinking about horribly pacing, it seems that it has become a much more common occurance with series commonly spanning over 3 months rather than the six months which was the norm about a decade ago. On the other hand, I have seen longer series, mainly visual novel adaptations, which do go 23-26 episodes which are way too long and stuffed with tons of crap filler. I’m sure there’s a good compromise amount in the middle somewhere, but it wouldn’t fit into the calendar at all.

End Tangent

Episode 2 was the sixth episode of Asu no Yoichi! In this episode Washizu SENSATIONALLY went over Ikaruga dojo in an attempt to impress Ibuki. Once there, Yoichi began to train him before the two engaged in a DUEL to reach 1,000 pushups. Chihaya also earned the family some extra MONEY, some assassin was playing the role of Ryoga to Yoichi’s Ranma and Ayame got a little more INTIMATE with Yoichi at the end.

Pointless Tangent #2

How does the Sun sell so many PAPERS when it RANDOMLY capitalizes WORDS THROUGHOUT THEIR ARTICLES? It isn’t that hard a skill when you see what I did above.

End Tangent

Since I have lots to catch up on next week, expect the next recap to be nearly 8,999 words long[no it isn’t – Ed.] In addition, I might throw up a post later should I miraculously surpass a milestone on my hit count.