Celebrating a Milestone Without Revealing What it is

Even Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink is outraged at my decision to write this post.
Even Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink is outraged at my decision to write this post.

I crossed a milestone yesterday on my hit count. You think it is the stale meme of OVER NINE THOUSAND!, but alas I might be finished with my Legend of the Galactic Heroes posts by the time I hit that. Instead, I will look back at the approximately three months I’ve been writing on this blog which yielded a nice round number of 30 posts. Plus, some pathetic attempts at comedy too.

Lower Mid-Table began in November as an attempt merely to write down some of my thoughts on various topics without any real focus. After my last blog, which was a post-college graduation unemployment free time sideways look at world soccer, I at least had some history of having some readers. The lack of focus would prove far too difficult.

After reading a couple of anime blogs and a general theme of shows that defined them, I threw up my own. Defining myself as a failure as an anime fan probably wasn’t the best way to start, though I still consider myself one. I mean really, who actually follows my weekly recaps anyway.

After wondering about what to write about, I started my DVD Collection posts in chronological order of airing. The goal mainly was to actually get some use out of my DVD collection rather than just let it sit there with some of the titles completely unwatched.

Then, for a month I pretty much didn’t do anything here. Just like my viewing schedule last week, it was basically lack of willpower to do anything. After talking to the IRC crew of the Critics and Connoisseurs group on MAL, I started planning for a blogging series for Legend of the Galactic Heroes trying, unsuccessfully, to make it like the Blogging the Qur’an series on the Guardian’s website. If only I could actually evoke discussion and get more than 20 views.

Sometimes I feel like I'm taking this kind of punishment, actually make that nearly always.
Sometimes I feel like I'm taking this kind of punishment, actually make that nearly always.

The new year began with pretty much a constant schedule of weekly recaps and LoGH posts on Saturday (I try to get them posted at 00:01 GMT, honest) with the occasional special post. Then one Sunday night, I decided to have a go at a writing about some news topic I saw regarding declining anime sales. Sadly, the four comments I got overnight represent the most I’ve ever gotten for a post even after it went around the ANN discussion board.

And last and probably least, was last weeks self-inflicted torture on my intelligence. Seems people just want me to suffer, as it immediately set a daily view record. Nice to know you care people.

Confusing fan art...Don't expect any discussion of this topic thankfully.
Confusing fan art...Don't expect any discussion of this topic thankfully.

Things to look forward too…or not as you are thinking: The DVD collection will eventually be watched even if the series get progressively worse…Hopefully a look at the politics of RideBack (not that I’m too impressed at this point)…The weekly episode thoughts of the greatest war in the history mankind…A chance to revisit peak anime theory and ultimately prove that I should have put in greater than 1 hour of research…And if I’m really motivated, a look at the internal workings of the MAL Critics and Connoisseurs club. So pretty much business as usual.