The Week That Was February 19-25

It was a week in which a crater and volcanoes in general became a contentious political issue.
It was a week in which a crater and volcanoes in general became a contentious political issue.

After last week, I was always going to watch more this time around. However, I may actually have a bit less to say than I did last week. Blame Norman Cook for it if you want.

The week began with a couple episodes of RideBack, which only brought me up to episode 5. I mentioned a couple posts ago that I was not all that impressed with the politics of the show thus far. As far as I have it figured out, either the existence of the GGP is a cowardous way of avoiding criticizing the existing government or it is a complex way of displaying xenophobia. I won’t pass ultimate judgement until I see the series through to the end and I hope I’m completely wrong.

After that, there was the combination of three episodes of Nyoro-n Churuya-san and four episodes of The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi-chan. The former seemingly works better in 4-koma form rather than what it is on YouTube. It seemed somewhat interesting the one time in the first three episodes it looked like there was plot development when the title character and Ashakura were battling over Kyon, but that was really the exception. The latter series relies on the absurdity of the characters from the source material. It works a bit better, but it could hardly be considered top quality comedy material.

Asu no Yoichi! continues to be the only show I’m following regularly it seems. This week was the standard harem beach episode. Kagome was really the main character for the week ultimately playing the pivotal role in helping Yoichi beat the two villains of the week. Also, the level of fanservice in the episode was probably a 9 on the scale I just made up in this sentence.

Minami-ke Okaeri was next with an episode which featured Makoto trying to get his Mako-chan alter-ego caught in seemingly as many ways as possible. Tripping a flag with Chiaki spilling the juice might be considered a bit questionable in the taste department, but perhaps it reveals that Chiaki has known the truth all along. Haruka, surprisingly, continues to be completely oblivious.

I finally got around to watching a bit more of Maria†Holic. Kanako’s complete oblivious-ness to basic facts about the school and her friends in general surely has to be addressed at some point. The overall story still seems pretty weak for me at just over the halfway mark.

Finally, I’m about 3 weeks behind Sora wo Kakeru Shoujo. After finishing episode 5 I was surprisingly disappointed at the lack of Kannagi fanservice which was only at a 4 on my scale. I really need to catch up/develop a better standard for enjoyment over the next couple of weeks for this series.

Best I could get from episode 5 sadly. Must improve.
Best I could get from episode 5 sadly. Must improve.

Hopefully a bit more for next week, and a greater variety at that…with more screencaps.