The Worst Spring Ever Part 1

The new anime season started a couple of days ago, and I haven’t really written a recap post in a couple of weeks (I just really, really suck at continuing on with shows I find boring).  So I’ll see how long I can last with daily…weekly…monthly…yearly recaps of the new season. By the way, the title is ironic, or not as may be the case as the season progresses.

Day 1 brought two first episodes. K-On was first out of the gate. Not really a lot to say about the first episode. Kyoto Animation’s newest series is about the preservation of a light music club via a clumsy girl to be lead guitar despite only knowing how to play the castanets. References to popular heavy metal themed comedy shows that I haven’t watched aren’t exactly inspired in my opinion. I’ll probably end up watching the next episode at the very least.

Product placement catering toward a niche market, surely someone should have learned their lesson.
Product placement catering toward a niche market, surely someone should have learned their lesson.

The thing that bothered me more was the troll subs I downloaded. Now, if you are going to troll something it would make sense to do it with as little effort as possible. Like just renaming an episode of According to Jim to whatever you want would be about the level of effort I would expect. Going through the effort of replacing the ED with “Dancing Queen” just displays far too much effort, and as a result it really fails as a troll.

Queen's Blade achieves a level near Dude, Where's My Car? for intellectual brilliance.
Queen's Blade achieves a level near Dude, Where's My Car? for intellectual brilliance.

The second series premier suitably lowered the bar as Queen’s Blade made it’s bow. The popularity of Strike Witches always made it likely something like this would be made, but the sheer audacity of this series is actually quite refreshing. The concept is basically having hot women fighting each other wearing little, if any, clothing for some purpose that the viewers probably won’t care about as they probably stopped at about “little, if any, clothing.” The first episode would probably be summed up best by the phrase “exploding breasts.” I will probably end up watching episode two under the influence of alcohol. If only this were a comedy…

2 thoughts on “The Worst Spring Ever Part 1”

  1. I don’t see the irony in your title, just your general displeasure with some new animes this season. Is there something I’m missing?

  2. It’s more a reflection on what I perceive to be the general mood toward new anime this season. The “worst” bit is actually pretty much as meaningful as the title “Best Week Ever” in that it pretty much serves as a just a title at this point. In the future, it could look like horribly misleading or fairly accurate depending on what happens. That’s pretty much it.

Comments are closed.