Fifty Posts for (Less Than) Fifty Readers: Spring Post Part 3

This seems a fitting way to mark my half century of posts.

This seems a fitting way to mark my half century of posts.

For the first time since I attempted to follow multiple shows that were newly airing, Fall 2004 if anyone cares, I’ve managed to trim the field of series to a small group. The curious amount of fantasy series has played a large part, though. So I present a 20%-ish recap of the shows I have been watching.

Cross Game is the latest Adachi baseball/slice-of-life/romance/comedy adaptation. Having seen exactly zero of the previous ones, I figured “what the hell? Might as well see if these are actually any good…and I like baseball.” The first two episodes have seen the protagonist Kitamura Kou advance from an entrepreneur who has nearly everything laid out in front of him, including a future wife in Tsukishima Wakaba, to well getting older while being stuck in the past. Well there is that possibility that Wakaba’s sister Aoba will instantly fall in love with him once he hits 100 mph on the radar gun. And on that note and realization that my desire for the writing is actually horrible, let’s move on.

Hatsukoi Limited is the first series I am watching where I have read the manga first. Thankfully, I’ve forgotten almost all of it. Anyway, the basic premise of the series is that it is a comedic look at the experience of first love. Through two episodes it’s involved violence and more violence mixed with repressed desire. This works much better with pictures so here…

She blinded me with violence.

She blinded me with violence.

Hayate the Combat Butler!! is three episodes in to its lengthy run. I don’t really have much to say to be honest. It seems on the same level as most of the first series, but I just kept watching that. Perhaps that’s really the only reason I’m watching it at all now.

Eden of the East is the most ambitious of the new series I have watched. Set in the near future involving terrorists and a way off the mark look at small aspects of New York and Washington, DC, it attempts to grapple with subjects like terrorism and government. Instead of actually summarizing what has happened, I will instead point out some of the things that are terribly wrong. Protagonist Takizawa Akira’s film knowledge is a nice touch, though the lack of a favorite film is disappointing. Second, Morimi Saki’s trip to New York included a trip to the Freedom Tower…in 2011…the thing might not actually be finished by 2033…research lacking. Third, who gives up their pants just for the hell of it to a guy wearing just a jacket. Fourth, this Sele├žao group that is backed by a shadow group and allows them to do whatever the hell they want with an infinite budget. Couldn’t they have picked a name that doesn’t evoke stuff like Brazil 1970, fat Ronaldo being surprised and Adriano disappearing into the ether…oh right this is an anime blog I forgot.

A little optimistic to think the Nationals will actually have fans in 2 years isn't it? Hell I suppose they probably think Teddy Roosevelt has won the Presidents Race by then.

A little optimistic to think the Nationals will actually have fans in 2 years isn't it? Hell I suppose they probably think Teddy Roosevelt has won the Presidents Race by then.

K-On! is more an exercise in trying to find the point in what is going on. Perhaps moeblob anime is beyond my comprehension, or viewers actually get something out of characters who clearly have learning disabilities. Maybe if I bang my head on this desk 200 times I’ll finally understand what makes this watchable.

Saki is about mahjong, and trying to make it look interesting. Anyway, I still have no clue how the game works even after reading wikipedia. Interestingly, it appears that even the makers of Saki got bored with trying to make this interesting and inserted a scene in the second episode that is rather surreal.

You know the first thing I think of when mahjong is mentioned is high school girls sprouting wings...What?

You know the first thing I think of when mahjong is mentioned is high school girls sprouting wings...What?

So six series, and I’ll probably end up dropping the one that is best in quality. Cursed with such retched taste it seems.

Leave a Reply

