40 Seasons in 40 Days: Summer 2006

Silly drawing or ultimately mocking the concept of "moe"?

The 9th post in this series takes us to the summer of 2006, a summer where I had plenty of other things to worry about. That’s not to say this was a particularly bad summer, but in the middle of peak anime I could hardly find anything I really wanted to watch. In the end I ended up completing 2 series and 2 movies, though I probably could have done without 1 of the latter.

First up is Welcome to the NHK!, with its look at a hikikomori and the girl who tries to save him. While at first it mainly focuses on Satou and his struggles in life, it slowly branches outward into how other people are affected by him. Though, I do take issue with the implication that starvation is the way to integrate hikikomori back into society.

Zero no Tsukaima as a franchise has gone through the typical pattern for sequel series, progressively worse while appealing to smaller and smaller groups of people. The first season which started in 2006, was a pretty good watch. It had a combination of fantasy and modern technology that worked as a series without excessive fan-service.

For the first of the movies there’s Paprika, which was the 2nd of Kon’s movies that I had seen. I saw Perfect Blue a little after this and I can say Paprika, while visually stimulating, is far from his best work. Unfortunately, I blew a bunch of money in actually buying it since I needed to try out a new Blu-ray player. Money, down the drain I guess.

The other Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo, was obviously the better film. It does an excellent job in portraying what a teenager with the ability to go back and forth in time would probably do in that given situation. Only when it becomes a limited resource does it actually become something of real importance. I wouldn’t go as far as to call this the best animated film I’ve seen this decade, but top 10? Probably.

Highlights from Unseen or Unfinished Item

Based on the experiences of my sample size of  one, Night Head Genesis is capable of testing the limits of human endurance. That can’t be good, surely. The second season of Honey and Clover is probably something I should get around to watching at some point. Hell I’ve even quoted a line from it in normal conversation without ever seeing it. Then there’s the Kujibiki Unbalance spinoff. As a show-within-a-show it works fine since you don’t really need to build a plot up. This is also why I felt that the 3 completely out-of-context episodes worked well in the OVA. I don’t see how this can even work here, starting with it being 14 episodes short of the quoted length from Genshiken.

3 thoughts on “40 Seasons in 40 Days: Summer 2006”

  1. Yeah, H&C is pretty fantastic, and that genre isn’t even normally my cup of tea.

    Le Chevalier D’Eon was my favorite of the season…I guess it’s a bit of an underappreciated gem, since no one else ever seems to know about it. But, c’mon…it’s the French Revolution…with ZOMBIES. (sorta) …and a trap? (sorta) Okay, yeah that’s probably a recipe for disaster, but it manages to pull it off somehow.

    1. I think the French title might put a lot of people off watching it actually. Even the plot synapses makes it look like something so absurd it couldn’t possibly work. I’ll definitely have to give that a shot at some point.

Comments are closed.