Pointless Debate #23: Most Memorable

oniikoto13a
I spent a bunch of time trying to make 500 something good, but the shortest way to get it out of the way was the Oniikoto DVD special

I recently completed my 500th anime according the database over at MAL, so I thought it would be time to put together some sort of tribute to reaching that milestone. So rather than trotting out a top 25 or some other list based on a rankings list I had, I decided to go with a list of the most memorable. These are in no particular order with simple reasons for why I personally found them memorable. Feel free to disagree because you probably will, but that’s what debate is all about isn’t it?

 

oniikoto09a
The random number generator decided I also needed a screen cap from the main series as well. Never leave things to luck.

Onii-chan no Koto nanka Zenzen Suki Janain Dakara ne!! for the destruction of my liver with every appearance of a cat or penguin.
Koi Kaze for the portrayal of a wonderful relationship…that just happens to be incestuous
Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket for making war into a cruel thing for a child…mmm hamburgers.
Macross: Do You Remember Love? for being able to answer yes to the title after watching it.
Seikai no Senki III for proving that a girl is worth being exiled from one’s homeland forever
Urusei Yatsura Movie 2: Beautiful Dreamer that a great film can be made from the source material of a proto-harem series.
Hayate the Combat Butler! for giving me false hope so often
Asobi ni Iku yo! for being an excellent tribute to science fiction past while also pandering to the present
Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei for dark comedy that brightened my day repeatedly.
Zero no Tsukaima because additional seasons do not represent quality
Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica for an ending that could be interpreted in so many ways
Giant Killing for making me cheer on a fictional football club.
Kuragehime for bringing the entrepreneurial spirit to an unlikely group.

twgoks110a
Pretty keen insight into what goes into my internal monologue while writing

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai for being able to see the ending
Rose of Versailles for being an outstanding piece of historical fiction.
Honey and Clover for serving as a reminder that aimless youth will ultimately get you nothing.
Clannad: Another World OVAs because Tomoya could have had a happier life given a different choice
Sasameki Koto for proving that I can like a series dominated by yuri themes
Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s for making magical girls cool.
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight! for fun amidst massive social change.
Kaiba because I want to remember what slice-of-life should really be.
True Tears for the epic shipping battles that inspired the beginning of Pointless Debate
K-ON! for simplicity
Macross 7 for simply being Macross 7
Odin: Starlight Mutiny because even the most boring thing in the world can be enlivened by watching with others.
Saber Marionette J for the fact that it screams it was made in the 90s
Cross Game for being the series where I was captivated by the baseball more than the story itself

dmc02a
Krauser smashing people with the guitar never gets old

Detroit Metal City for making complete debauchery completely hilarious.
Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt for scraping the bottom of the barrel proudly.
Space Runaway Ideon for killing everyone
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann for creating an epic story, and then doing it even better the second time.
Bakemonogatari for being constantly entertaining in the indirectness of its characters
Moyashimon for providing a fun college experience
Fractale for reminding everyone that even the best time slots fail
Great Teacher Onizuka for providing life lessons provided one has a near infinite tolerance for pain.
Metropolis for an interesting song selection amidst massive destruction.
Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu for making broadcast order far superior to chronological order

bl18a
And I couldn't resist getting in using the inability to communicate as comedy.

Black Lagoon for remembering that action should be fun
Tokyo Godfathers for bringing together the most unlikely group of characters and because Satoshi Kon will be missed.
Top wo Nerae! for a story that spanned thousands of years without the need for color.
Genshiken for portraying the post-graduation job hunt unsympathetically
Daicon Opening Animations for showing what was possible for a group of fans to do on a minimal budget.
Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion for one of the shortest, but most potent lines to end a movie
Higashi no Eden for sheer optimism that missile strikes on Tokyo can end in no deaths.
Legend of the Galactic Heroes for displaying politics in the darkest, yet most balanced way possible.
Cowboy Bebop because life deserves a great soundtrack.
Akira for one of the best post-apocalyptic settings
Saikano for being both incredibly depressing and the the best way to brighten up one’s day at the same time.
Azumanga Daioh for providing the inspiration for some of today’s cheaper ripoffs.
Mobile Suit Gundam Wing for being a reminder that the stuff I used to like wasn’t actually very good
Interstella5555 – The 5tory of The 5ecret 5tar 5ystem for Daft Punk is playing at my house

Memorable doesn’t really mean the same as great quality to me as you can see. Many of these are rated low by mean and many others, but from a top 50 (ish) of what I had completed, this was what made my final cut. My personal top 50 from a quality perspective would look a lot different and I may decide to put it up here at a later date. Until then, feel free to have your say in the comments on these and anything else you may have found memorable over the years.

14 thoughts on “Pointless Debate #23: Most Memorable”

  1. I seriously doubt that you give a rats ass what I think, but I’ll give your props for ~in no particular order: Bebop, Macross(both), Giant Killing, GTO, Sayonara, Detroit, Tokyo Godfathers, Akira, Metropolis, Cross Game, Kuragehime, Lagann, Black Lagoon, Eden, and Gundam 0800. No disagreement since I haven’t seen most of the others. I don’t have any plans or desire to see them.
    Enjoyed your succinct reasoning.

    1. Actually, I think I care too much about what others think. I’d definitely be interested if you had any others to add on to it, and while I do think this list was far from definitive I do want to know what could be added from what I haven’t seen.

  2. DYRL: Yes
    Banner of the Stars III: YES
    Honey and Clover: LOL
    Macross 7: THIS
    Panty & Stocking: Indeed.
    Ideon: INDEED.
    Gurren Lagann: You liked the movies better? Interesting.
    Fractale: Bwahahaha
    Haruhi: Yes
    Gunbuster: ;_;
    Saikano: Really? Elaborate plz

    1. Actually on Gurren Lagann, that was more about the fact that it took me like a year to get back into it to watch after the time skip. I thought everything up until that point had been an excellent, epic tale. That was only for the last arc to do it even better than the first. On Saikano, the destruction of the world leaving only one survivor who had to watch as everything came to an end because of the one he loved was depressing. However, it had the effect of making the annoyances and struggles of everyday life for me look rather tame by comparison. I could put myself in that situation and realized that it’s rather good in real life.

  3. Sharing a couple here for similar and other reasons :
    Rose of Versailles – First reason the reverse trap I ever encountered in my anime life. Second reason, anime also have bad endings and also why elementary schoolers shouldn’t watch it.
    Tokyo Godfathers/any Satoshi Kon – because he got me into watching anime movies again and because he will be always missed.
    Haruhi Suzumiya – same reason plus others like a relatable lead.
    Saber Marionette J – can’t bring myself to disagree with the accurate 90’s statement. For me it was memorable because I learned how drastically animation changes after seasons.
    Genshiken – because it was a manga worth purchasing and watching otaku do otaku things can be interesting.
    Kaiba – unsure what makes it slice-of-life, but if this is slice of life than I want see more of it.
    Detroit Metal City – for making complete debauchery completely hilarious. Because a shameless copy and paste was suitable to express the same idea.
    Great Teacher Onizuka – because the best teacher has a name and is a black belt in karate.

    1. Those are all good reasons, though I wouldn’t necessarily call Kyon relatable. I would describe him as the sarcastic voice in the back of our minds personified, and I don’t think they would be the easiest person to be around in that case. As far as Kaiba, there are elements of slice-of-life in there. Mainly, it happens when the stories revolve around secondary characters or those who never appear again.

  4. Congrats on the 500th anime. Quite a milestone there.
    Absolutely loved your point on Seikai no Senki III; have yet to hear someone spell out Jinto’s decision quite so succinctly.

  5. Haha, this was a nice post – some things made me chuckle. By some, I mean one, and that was Kaminomi, because I’m too much of a newfag to have watched most others (besides Fractale, which… uh… yeah).

    You should make more posts like these – they’re great if your mind is completely blreajklfdsj;klfjlcxkhakdjf s;kldfjfzxcvz and you need a humourous post to make your mind less bksjdflksjdvioxuc;klajcv;lkasjdf,.fzdsf.

  6. Nice list, impressive. Makes me want to diversify my list myself.

    TTGL movies were more epic and liked it better, but had to go revisit the anime which was pretty good as well.

  7. Honey and Clover – But what is happiness? What would ‘aim’ have gotten him? Would a high paying and prestigious job have gotten him happiness? His life didn’t seen so rotten to me. Seems like a fine life to me. Though any life lived is a fine life (I’m taking an angle from Camus here).
    Clannad After – But would he have gone back and changed it? One might take the bad with the good and say, once again, that the happiness he did obtain was more precious than any alternative reality.

    1. The little I do know of Camus consists of the thought that “life is meaningless, so get a girlfriend and be happy.” If it weren’t for that line at the end of the series, would you have viewed him as happy? So he took a while to decide what makes him happy, but it wasn’t the most efficient way to do it and he didn’t get the girl after all. That was basically my argument.

      On Clannad, it seemed like those alternate endings were more valid than anything with a reset. Character preference also played the major role here to be fair.

Comments are closed.