12 Days “Five Months Later, a Flight Feels Entirely Different”

I woke up one morning to see this. Those numbers are 5 feet off the ground

This is part of a series of shorter posts recapping more whimsical aspects of 2011, not necessarily having to do with any of the main topics covered by this blog.

Back in July, I took a bit of a short vacation to Los Angeles of all places. The city has something of a bad reputation out here in the Midwest, and the reaction I got from coworkers ranged from “at least it will be cooler out there” to “I hope you don’t get shot”. It was tepid to say the least.

I didn’t particularly do that much in the 3 days I was there. Walked around downtown LA a bit, attended a match at the Home Depot Center, almost got into a car accident more times than I could remember and In-and-Out Burger, how could I forget one of the best parts.

The Staples Center, home arena of a few bloggers' favorite player. At this point, it was home to a giant skateboard ramp.

I suppose I can’t forget the meeting with Crusader and zzeroparticle in Long Beach, along with another guy whose name I can’t seem to remember. So you have one of these off-kai type sessions and what am I thinking about? Discussions of the NFL lockout, the state of our respective sports teams, our lives outside of the conversation taking place. That latter one I struggle with no matter how comfortable the setting is, but otherwise pretty normal topics for normal people in a normal location.

We then caught Captain America where I, as the sole non-student/soldier had to pay full price. It was a lot better than I thought it would be going in. Bring on disappointment with The Avengers. Regardless, there’s no reason to treat these offline get together sessions any differently from meeting with friends. That is unless the occasion dictates it, etc.

They've been promoting this game for a long time

Finally, the real reason for the post title. On my flight back, I happened to be on the same flight as Milwaukee Brewers outfielder Ryan Braun. At the time I thought it was a pretty awesome coincidence, and the Brewers went on an amazing run after that. Of course, the news that he failed a test for performance enhancing drugs put a little damper on that. There’s a lesson in there involving hero worship and athletes I guess.

To end this on a lighter note, I have to ask where should I head off to next?

10 thoughts on “12 Days “Five Months Later, a Flight Feels Entirely Different””

  1. If only I hadn’t been working, then I could have joined in, too. 😦

    California drivers really are awful, and it honestly seems like Los Angeles is built to encourage as many car accidents as possible. But it’s at least a lot safer to walk around in at night than it may have been before, though. At least, I didn’t feel that threatened during my weekend there at Anime Expo …

    1. I was actually surprised by how few people walk around on the streets there. I knew cars took people everywhere, but it was like an entirely different world to what I’m used to in urban settings.

      1. Los Angeles actually has way more people walking around than I’m used to seeing, but that’s likely because there are way more people in L.A. in the first place, haha.

  2. Travel is good for you. I’d say somewhere where you know some folks, either through RL or online, bloggers and such. There are lots of folks in Toronto and Vancouver, also around New England. California is a lot like Florida in terms of transportation, which is a downer. London has great transportation, and I think Montreal is pretty solid as well.

    I guess it depends on what you want to do and who is in the vicinity. I don’t recommend coming to Florida by the way, lol.

    1. I spent 5 years as a kid in South Florida and I’ve been back once. I was thinking London next year, but I can’t even fathom how much that would cost.

  3. Well hopefully Braun will bounce back with some dignity if the allegations are true. Sorry for the late comment was browsing around for Idolmaster posts. Still I hope you have fun during your visit, his name was John and his team is the Buccaneers he’s having a rather rough NFL season and a rather less than awesome holiday.

    As for travel you can always make a tour of Baseball Stadiums/Football Stadiums/Basketball Arenas. It was great when I could take other bloggers along and see them in their natural environments.

    1. Pretty much resigned to losing him for the 50 games already. I knew John was from the Tampa area, and that situation with the Bucs isn’t pretty. Maybe RG3 could rescue the situation.

      I think I was going to bring sports events into any potential trip anyway. It’s hard at the moment to decide on things when schedules for some things haven’t been released yet.

Comments are closed.