Pointless Debate #25: Four Lists

I undoubtedly have this terrible tendency to overrate single episode OVAs

There seems to be something about making lists that appeals to a lot of people. Recently the aniblogosphere has been engaged in their yearly 12 Moments lists, while many get prepared for listing what series they look forward to next year or even which 366 school uniforms they plan on presenting next year.

Last night on twitter, Vucub Caquix (part of the duo who write the definitive posts on Penguindrum) was simply interested in knowing what others’ favorite series of the year were. Coinciding with end of season and year votes at Kevo’s Power Rankings (I’ve been setting a record for futility in getting my votes to make the ranking), I actually found myself with 4 lists which covered 2 different time periods that told entirely different stories of how I interpreted what I had watched. Two lists cover the whole year, while the other two fall in the last 3 months; the period in which I was voting in the Anime Power Rankings.

I've also heard from BL fans that my taste is appalling

The Fall Season

  APR Average Vote Personal Ranking
1 Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai Working’!!
2 Working’!! Sekaiichi Hatsukoi 2
3 Last Exile –Fam, The Silver Wing- Astarotte no Omocha! OVA
4 Sekaiichi Hatsukoi 2 Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai
5 Maken-ki! Shinryaku?! Ika Musume

The two sets of lists here are fairly self-descriptive. When voting in the Power Rankings, I voted on a week-by-week basis. This meant that on average I enjoyed an episode of Haganai more than Last Exile. I didn’t consider the series as a whole as I was voting, which is when it came to the end of the season, I liked Sekaiichi Hatsukoi more than Haganai.

There are some caveats of course. I couldn’t vote for OVAs in the Power Rankings, and I didn’t rate anything I haven’t finished like <em>Last Exile.</em> However, I think this may be where one of those situations where I’m judging what others would think of what I’m watching.

Then again, I think most can agree that Steins;Gate was at least good

The Year 2011

  Most Enjoyable Personal Ranking
1 Steins;Gate Steins;Gate
2 Asobi ni Iku Yo! OVA C: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control
3 Hen Zemi The World God Only Knows II
4 Level E Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica
5 The World God Only Knows II Nichijou
6 Onii-chan no Koto nanka Zenzen Suki Janain Dakara ne!! Usagi Drop
7 Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko
8 C: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control Yumekui Merry
9 IS: Infinite Stratos Kimi ni Todoke II
10 Softenni Level E

Again mostly differing lists based on enjoyment versus quality. Madoka was clearly in the top tier of shows from my standpoint for quality, but there were too many things that bothered me about it for me to truly enjoy.

But the more interesting list is on the left. Yes, I happened to like material that pushed the boundaries of taste and weren’t vary serious. I don’t think there’s much wrong with that. Prince Baka’s trolling was impressive in Level E though the Color Rangers bit wore thin. I was off my ass for most of Oniikoto which is probably a good reason I rated it highly there. And Softenni, I really think it’s underappreciated. There’s much more than the constant Eva references, like training camps within training camps. Alright, that’s sort of weak, but it’s number 10.

And my favorite moment of breaking the 4th wall this year

And about the single episode OVAs, those usually happen to be trips into self-parody anyway. Until recently I had the Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka OVA in my top 100, but it was fun in my opinion. Entertainment is really what watching anime is about.

2 thoughts on “Pointless Debate #25: Four Lists”

    1. Glad to hear. It’s been a little hard after being called out for writing terribly, or I’m just overreacting to that. Anyway, we all have personal favorites, I just wanted to highlight the difference between what I thought others thought was good and what I enjoyed. Or something to that effect.

Comments are closed.