Pointless Debate #26: Season Previews Revisited

I had to carry over one thing from the earlier, right? This isn't a full preview.

In my last post for Haganai, I had a comment mention something about the fact that I should do a season preview before picking any show to write about for the winter. I would have responded in the comments there, but 18 months ago I had my say on season previews. I didn’t really understand the point. Most relevant bloggers these days have preview posts of some sort. I should at least point to Scamp’s well written one since I pretty much relied on it heavily when categorizing these shows. My comments in the above aren’t entirely serious if you couldn’t tell, but I had to carry something over.

So ultimately I’ve decided to begin the year by putting together a legitimate attempt at a season. I’m not going to include opinions on sequels of shows I haven’t seen since that’s really unfair. Let’s hope this turns out respectable.

Would Consider Blogging

Why the hell not? It wouldn't be the most absurd pairing ever.
  • Amagami SS+ plus (superfluous “plus”es?)
  • Bodacious Mini Skirt erm, that show with Space Pirates
  • Nisemonogatari

I’m surprised I came up with 3 for this list. Amagami probably goes into the category of wanting to write about something seemingly new for this blog. It’s essentially a continuation of the previous arcs from the first season. While I was hoping for arcs for Hibiki, Miya and that teacher whose name escapes me at the moment, I’ll just settle for this.

Space Pirates is rather high concept in the sense that many series are these days. Hell, Haganai was textbook in that area. Vucub Caquix suggested this since it seemed similar to Legend of the Galactic Heroes. Though the only thing I see in common is that they are in space. Sure there were pirates mentioned briefly in LotGH, but not much.

Nisemonogatari is something I’m actually interested in writing on. Shaft does, however, have a terrible habit of bad second seasons, though Zetsubou Sensei‘s 2nd season is the best in my opinion. There’s also probably a feeling of regret that I never hopped on the Bakemonogatari train when that was airing. Maybe I’m not analytical enough to get what will happen in this series.

Will Probably Watch and Possibly Write About in Passing

Area no Kishi: If Giant Killing involved only non-players falling ill or catching Key AIDS
  • Ano Natsu de Matteru
  • Area no Kishi 
  • Thermae Romae

Unlike other people, I’m not particularly bothered by the tag “from the makers of Onegai Teacher and Onegai Twins.” I think it just means more small town hijinks of the spectacular kind, though not much to write about on a weekly basis.

Area no Kishi’s issue is with the fact that I wouldn’t be able to hold up the joke of writing about just the footballing action for the whole year as it airs. I can’t just mail in posts that look like:

There was no football in this episode.

Thermae Romae is only 3 episodes. I’d be debating for 2 whole months what to watch next. And I’d still have LotGH posts still left to fill the gap to spring.

Will Probably Never be Heard From Here, but Possibly Watched

The best series in 2011 that I never wrote a sentence about here. Engi was also my favorite character from it.
  • Another
  • Brave 10
  • Daily Lives of High School Boys
  • Inu x Boku SS
  • Kill Me Baby 
  • Poyopoyo Kansatsu Nikki
  • Rinne no Lagrange

I just decided to throw these shows together into one category, but they are really 2. Those would be shows that I drop quickly, or shows that I don’t have anything particular to say that hasn’t been said already elsewhere. Drops and 7/10 shows don’t make particularly good writing in my view.

Likely to Finish, but Hate Myself For Doing So

Highschool DxD: If this doesn't sum up what it's about, I don't know what will.
  • Black Rock Shooter
  • Highschool DxD
  • Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai! 
  • Recorder to Randoseru 
  • Senki Zesshou Symphogear 
  • Zero no Tsukaima F

Finally, the shows that I’m going to hate myself for completing. The highlight here is that Zero no Tsukaima will finally end. How about a stupid ending where Saito wakes up in the real world and his classmates and teachers are the people he came across in the series. Too easy?

The rest include BRS marking the end of Noitamina as a timeslot of any note, a few shows involving confusion in family situations that a just absurd (but normal in anime), the mandatory harem crap series and a musical!? I probably won’t be talking much about these unless they are rage-worthy bad.

I hope that wasn’t too bad. I probably contradicted myself by actually going to other sites and reading a few things about these series before putting these into categories. Other than that, I don’t know if anything I said 18 months ago still applies here. Also, feel free to comment on my choices and just how wrong/right about any of these shows.

6 thoughts on “Pointless Debate #26: Season Previews Revisited”

  1. Nothing looks good so far from reading descriptions =/ .. Well at the very least, i have all my backlogs of anime to watch while i wait out for Spring. XD

    1. I wouldn’t necessarily go that far. Other opinions on series airing in the winter are available. Plus, people seem to like Natsume, but I haven’t seen any of it so I don’t have much of an opinion on it.

      1. The previous Natsumes is in my backlog! XD .. But yeah I doubt i will actually wait out till that long but I’ll give winter 2012 a few weeks for everyone else to test waters before i dive in.

Comments are closed.