The Lower Mid-Table Summer (of Failure) Season Preview

This chart should only be indicative of the fact that I can think like I’m 10.

The start of summer (or winter Southern Hemisphere folks) brings with it plenty of things. Where I’m at that means heat, humidity and ridiculously inflated utility bills in a quest to maintain some adequate level of comfort. On a much more relevant note, it also means another new season of series to watch. I think in the past, the summer season has largely been dismissed as inferior to the spring and fall seasons. So I decided to look back 5 years to see what came out of that summer.

Summer 2008, and even now they haven’t progressed in their relationship.

There were shows like Baccano!, Mononoke, the second season of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni and Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei (the last of which is the only I have seen) which have held up well. On the other hand, Zero no Tsukaima began to drop in quality, Umisho was pretty much the average show. However, by the end, most of the conversation focused on a boat taking a scenic journey around an unspecified location in Europe. Actually, that was more a case of shipping costing the lives of characters in the case of School Days. Plus, that was a nice boat.

Anyway, it’s on to the actual point of having this preview; considering which shows I would want to write on. I think 3 in a season has worked out pretty well for me up to this point, and I don’t see much reason to change that. If I end up choosing a show that goes into the fall, then it will have the added bonus of missing 2 weeks in the middle of it. So with that in mind, here are my perspective picks.

Spring 2009: It’s ridiculously easy to remember she did something other than yell that same phrase over and over again.

Would Consider Blogging

  • Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
  • Ebiten

So in a first pass through of reading through what each is about I came away with 2 shows that feature high school boys that are part of unusual clubs. I guess what stands out about these two from the rest is the first being an eroge adaptation that seems to have a political edge to it. No doubt that edge is as sharp as a soft pillow, but it’s different enough. Ebiten seems to fall into that category of harem lead who really shouldn’t have any hope in hell of ending up with any of the girls. Actually, the best thing it could do is show fujoshi as normal people, but that’s a pretty faint hope.

Summer 2010: When subtlety went out the window

Will Probably Watch Anyway

  • Moyashimon
  • Dog Days’
  • Tari Tari
  • Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!
  • Rinne no Lagrange

And so it moves on to one of these shows to try to get promoted into the top group. Three of these are continuations of which I wrote little or nothing about the first season. They present a nice combination of fun, well-animated concert scenes and mecha which earned them second seasons. For the new series, Tari Tari is one of those series that is throwing a bunch of characters together and hoping it works well. Plus, it has a character who spent most of his childhood in Australia. Somehow, I doubt they’d have him speak Japanese with an Australian accent. As for Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru there’s the comically absurd premise and the harem lead here has tons of money if only he could find a future wife that isn’t his long-lost sister. I could choose any of these 5 to be honest.

Summer 2011: The birth of ironic vanity projects

Will Watch and Hate Myself for Doing So

  • Natsuyuki Rendezvous
  • Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai
  • Kokoro Connect
  • Campione!

And here we have the stuff I always watch despite knowing it’s not actually any good. (See Highschool DxD, Maken-ki!, hundreds of others…) . We start with a premise that sounds fairly close to the movie Ghost. Maybe the love interest will become bros with the ghost. Will I care? Then there’s a show about a guy unable to become aroused, who will undoubtedly be constantly sporting an unseen erection in every scene. Plus, there’s Kokoro Connect which has a plot fitting of single installment doujinshi. Finally, Campione! probably has the typical overpowered protagonist with the charisma of wet paper.

Summer 2001: When Spoor took care of her precious fleet against all odds.

No, Just No

  • Oda Nobuna no Yabou
  • Hagure Yuusha no Estetica
  • Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

This isn’t particularly hating on any of these shows in particular, just that there are going to be better uses of my time. The last one’s premise is silly, unless we are taking tens of thousands of years into the future. While those watching Oda Nobuna should really watch Sengoku Collection for being surprisingly good, or Sengoku Otome to see how much of a compromise this appears to be.

As for those I haven’t mentioned, they are mainly down to either continuations of shows I didn’t watch, or they just didn’t look interesting enough to mention. I suppose in the case of the latter, it’s a pretty big indictment of it’s quality. Then again, I doubt the opinions of a small-time blogger thousands of miles away writing in a different language matter to a production committee.

Summer 2012: Remembering that it’s harder to rage against something when you didn’t put up with chapter-after-chapter of waffling.

Like all of these season previews I have done, please feel free to try to convince me what I should spend my time watching this coming season. You probably have a fairly good chance of winning me over at this point. Also, venting your frustration and/or expressing your affections for anything coming up is well encouraged.

10 thoughts on “The Lower Mid-Table Summer (of Failure) Season Preview”

  1. Dude you should go totally watch Kingdom it’s so horribad

    (In all seriousness, will probably be looking forward to Sword Art Online, the apparently .Hack/ Clone 😦 )

  2. The only summer 2012 shows that really interest me are Muvluv, which seems to be a mix of Starship Troopers and Blue Gender but with more tits, that weird one about the Japanese folk poems and possibly Moyashimon but I haven’t watched S1 of it yet.

    Still I’m quite glad to not be starting too many more shows what with E7AO rumbling on and an ever-increasing pile of stuff to finish.

      1. I think it’s a show that really wants to be an ultraviolent 80s mecha series with DRAMA and LOSS and so on, but is ultimately still a VN adaptation.

        On the other hand, it’s an 80s style real robot show in 2012 and I give it credit for that.

Comments are closed.