Pupa: A Quick Review

Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.
Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood.

Pupa in its first episode really showed why censorship can be a bad thing if used selectively. We have an older brother witnessing his sister turning into a man-eating monster where we can’t see that transformation happening. Then, we get to see her in her new form, which isn’t as terrible as I expected.

The only other thing I thought was worth noting in this 4 minute short was the fact that everyone except for Yume had were bodies covered in wounds. What that leads me into is asking a question of whether this show can actually work in short episodes as a psychological horror series. I’m inclined to say that the short format makes it more disposable and less likely to be remembered. Putting it together in a single hour-long feature format would make more sense in my opinion.

5 thoughts on “Pupa: A Quick Review”

  1. Good lord, the censorship I’ve seen is horrible. If I ever do check this out, it will be with the uncensored release. I also get the feeling too, that this would have been best served as a feature film.

    1. I think there was an uncensored release of this somewhere and I also think it was a compilation of the series itself. Still, why release it in pieces then?

  2. “I’m inclined to say that the short format makes it more disposable and less likely to be remembered. Putting it together in a single hour-long feature format would make more sense in my opinion.”

    Ditto. I think the 5-minute format tended to work quite well for, say, Yami Shibai, but the big difference there is that the stories were all stand-alone. I don’t see the same format working out anywhere near as well for a show like Pupa.

    1. I never managed to get around to watching Yami Shibai. There are shorts that do work which are more comedy focused, but it’s hard to think of where it would work on something dark without comedy.

Comments are closed.